Byron Shire Council, Clarence Valley Council & Ors


  • Byron Shire Council

Lodged on behalf of:

  • Ballina Shire Council
  • Clarence Valley Council
  • Kyogle Shire Council
  • Rous County Council
  • Tweed Shire Council


TargetNotification numberDate lodged
Commonwealth BankCB10000465-127/03/2019
ANZ BankCB10000465-227/03/2019
National Australia BankCB10000465-327/03/2019
Westpac BankCB10000465-427/03/2019


On 27 March 2019, Byron Shire Council, Ballina Shire Council, Clarence Valley Council, Kyogle Shire Council, Rous County Council and Tweed Shire Council (together, ‘the Councils’) lodged a collective bargaining notification seeking to jointly tender, negotiate and administer individual contracts with a financial institution for banking and bill payment services. All of the Councils’ previous transactional banking contracts expired on 31 December 2018 and Clarence Valley Council is coordinating a joint tender process.

The conduct notified constitutes collective bargaining under section 93AB of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010. The Councils do not propose to engage in collective boycotts. The expected outcome of the notified conduct is that the Councils will enter separate contracts with the financial institution that wins the tender. The contracts would operate for five years.

A copy of the notification is available below.

On 10 May 2019, the ACCC decided not to object to the notification, and to allow the immunity provided by the notification to remain in force until 1 April 2025, unless it is withdrawn or revoked.

Further information about the ACCC’s decision is available in the Statement of Reasons below.  


Document title Date


Document title Date


Document title Date