Metropolitan Waste and Resource Recovery Group & Ors (landfill)


The Metropolitan Waste and Resource Recovery Group (MWRRG), on behalf of itself and 31 councils located in metropolitan Melbourne (the Participating Councils), is seeking to jointly procure services for receiving residual waste and related ancillary services (Landfill Services). MWRRG, on behalf of the Participating Councils, seeks authorisation for:

·       MWRRG to conduct a collaborative competitive tender process for the procurement of Landfill Services.

·       negotiating and executing the contractual framework for the supply of Landfill Services to Participating Councils and

·       ongoing administration and management of the resulting contracts

(the Proposed Conduct).

A copy of the application is available by the following link below. The ACCC is currently inviting submissions from interested parties on the application for authorisation by 2 September 2019.

On 29 August 2019, the ACCC granted interim authorisation to enable commencement of the tender and contract negotiation process for the joint procurement of services.

Indicative timetable for assessment of the application

2 August 2019

Lodgement of application and supporting submission.

8 August 2019

Public consultation process begins.

21 August 2019

Closing date for submissions on interim authorisation.

29 August 2019

ACCC decision regarding interim authorisation.

2 September 2019

Closing date for submissions from interested parties.

September 2019

Applicant responds to issues raised in the public consultation process.

October 2019

Draft determination.

October 2019

Public consultation on draft determination including any conference if called.

November/December 2019

Final determination.


  • Glen Eira City Council
  • Moonee Valley City Council
  • Metropolitan Waste and Resource Recovery Group
  • Boroondara City Council
  • City of Greater Dandenong Council
  • City of Greater Geelong Council
  • Melton Shire Council
  • Whittlesea City Council
  • Nillumbik Shire Council
  • Manningham City Council
  • Yarra Ranges Shire Council
  • Melbourne City Council
  • Port Phillip City Council
  • Brimbank City Council
  • Cardinia Shire Council
  • Darebin City Council
  • Monash City Council
  • Frankston City Council
  • Moreland City Council
  • Yarra City Council
  • Whitehorse City Council
  • Mornington Peninsula Shire Council
  • Banyule City Council
  • Hobsons Bay City Council
  • Hume City Council
  • Casey City Council
  • Kingston City Council
  • Maribyrnong City Council
  • Stonnington City Council
  • Maroondah City Council
  • Knox City Council
  • Bayside City Council

Authorisation number(s)

  • AA1000449-1