The ACCC proposes to grant authorisation for 11 years to Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC) and its 12 member councils to jointly tender for the processing of commingled recycling in yellow-lidded kerbside bins and disposal of residuals, and enter into and give effect to contracts that may be executed as an outcome of the procurement conduct.

The 12 councils are Bayside Council, Burwood Council, Canterbury-Bankstown Council, City of Canada Bay Council, Georges River Council, Inner West Council, Randwick City Council, Strathfield Council, City of Sydney Council, Sutherland Shire Council, Waverley Council, and Woollahra Municipal Council (together, the Councils).

The ACCC has also decided to grant interim authorisation while the ACCC is considering the substantive application.

The ACCC is now seeking submissions in response to the draft determination by 12 January 2024, before making its final determination. Further details about the application and how to make a submission are available on the ACCC’s public register.