ACCC Chair & Commissioners

The ACCC has a Chair, two Deputy Chairs, and three Commissioners. Their appointment to the ACCC involves participation by the Commonwealth, and state and territory governments.

Chair Rod Sims

Rod Sims

Rod Sims was appointed Chair of the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) in August 2011 for an initial five-year term, reappointed for a further three years in August 2016, and reappointed again for a further three years until July 2022, making him the longest serving Chair of the ACCC.

Rod has extensive business and public sector experience. Immediately prior to his appointment to the ACCC, he was the Chairman of the Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal of New South Wales (IPART), Commissioner on the National Competition Council, Chairman of InfraCo Asia, Director of Ingeus Limited, and a member of the Research and Policy Council of the Committee for Economic Development of Australia. Rod was also a Director of Port Jackson Partners Limited, where he advised the CEOs and boards of some of Australia’s top 50 companies on commercial corporate strategy over many years. Rod relinquished all of these roles on becoming Chair of the ACCC.

Rod is also a past Chairman of the NSW Rail Infrastructure Corporation and the State Rail Authority and has been a director of a number of private sector companies. During the late 1980s and early 1990s, Rod worked as the Deputy Secretary in the Commonwealth Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet responsible for economic, infrastructure and social policy and the Cabinet Office. He also worked as Deputy Secretary in the Department of Transport and Communications. Between 1988 and 1990 Rod was the Economic Advisor to Australia’s Prime Minister.

Rod holds a first-class honours degree in commerce from the University of Melbourne and a Master of Economics from the Australian National University.

Deputy Chair Delia Rickard

Delia Rickard

Delia Rickard was appointed to the position of Deputy Chair of the ACCC in June 2012 for a period of five years and reappointed for a further five years in July 2017. She is also an Associate Member of the Australian Communications and Media Authority.

Delia has extensive public service experience. Her passion is for consumer protection and she has worked in a variety of senior roles primarily at the ACCC and the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.

Delia sits on the ACCC’s enforcement, competition exemptions, communications and strategic compliance committees. She also chairs the ACCC’s market study into the cost of insurance in Northern Australia and is a member of the board for a number of other ACCC market studies.

Outside work she is a trustee of the Jan Pentland Foundation, an organisation dedicated to providing scholarships for those who want to work as financial counsellors, and a director of Fairtrade Australia New Zealand. She is also the Chair of Good Shepherd’s Advisory Committee on Financial Inclusion Action Plans and a member of the Consumer Policy Research Centre’s reference group.

Delia was awarded the Public Service Medal in 2011 for her contribution to consumer protection and financial services. She has also been awarded the Society of Consumer Affairs Professionals Lifetime Achievement Award. She holds bachelor’s degrees in law and arts from the University of New South Wales.

Deputy Chair Mick Keogh

Mick Keogh

Mick Keogh was appointed to the ACCC in February 2016, and then as Deputy Chair of the ACCC in 2018, with responsibility for Small Business and Agriculture.

Mick has a long and diverse history of involvement with the small business and agriculture sector, including periods of employment as a business consultant, and in advocacy and advisory roles to policymakers and governments. He has also chaired a number of Commonwealth Government inquiries and Ministerial advisory boards, and is currently a member of the Commonwealth Government’s Emission Reduction Assurance Council, and a Board member of the Food Agility Co-operative Research Centre.

From 2003 to 2018, he was Executive Director of the Australian Farm Institute, an independent policy research institute that conducted research into strategic policy issues of importance to Australian agriculture and regional Australia. Mick continued in that role until his appointment as Deputy Chair of the ACCC in June 2018.

Mick was awarded the Order of Australia Medal in 2015. He holds bachelor’s and master’s degrees in science, both obtained at the University of New South Wales, and a Doctor of Applied Science (honoris causa) from Charles Sturt University.

Mick’s role at the ACCC includes involvement in a range of committees, as well as oversight of the small business, franchising and agriculture units of the ACCC.

Commissioner Sarah Court

Sarah Court

Sarah Court was appointed a Commissioner of the ACCC in May 2008, and reappointed for a third term in 2018. She is also an Associate Commissioner of the New Zealand Commerce Commission.

Sarah is a former senior executive lawyer with the Australian Government Solicitor. She brings to her role extensive experience in Commonwealth legal work, including restrictive trade practices, consumer protection and law enforcement litigation.

Sarah oversees the ACCC’s enforcement and litigation program and is chair of the Commission’s Enforcement Committee, Compliance Committee, Consumer Data Right Committee and Legal Committee. She also sits on the Merger Review Committee and the Competition Exemptions Committee.

Sarah holds a Bachelor of Arts (Jurisprudence) and a Bachelor of Law (Honours) from the University of Adelaide, as well as a Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice from the Australian National University. She is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Commissioner Stephen Ridgeway

Stephen Ridgeway

Stephen Ridgeway was appointed a Commissioner of the ACCC in June 2019. Stephen brings a wealth of experience from his previous roles as a lawyer in the private and public sectors. He is widely recognised as one of Australia’s leading competition and consumer lawyers and an expert in the field. In 2018 Stephen retired as a senior partner at King & Wood Mallesons.

Early in his career, Stephen acted for the ACCC and its predecessor, the Trade Practices Commission, in enforcement litigation as a senior lawyer with the Australian Government Solicitor. Since joining private practice in 1998, Stephen has had extensive involvement in merger clearance applications in a wide variety of industries, including energy and telecommunications in particular. He has extensive experience in regulatory enforcement actions, including a number of landmark ACCC enforcement matters in recent years.

During 2011 and 2012 Stephen was National Chairman of the Competition and Consumer Committee of the Law Council of Australia, and led consultations with the ACCC and Treasury about policy and enforcement matters. He has been an Executive Member of the Business Law Section of the Law Council of Australia since 2016.

Stephen chairs the ACCC’s Merger Review Committee and Competition Exemptions Committee, and is a member of the ACCC’s Enforcement Committee and Water Project Board.

Stephen holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) from the University of New South Wales and a Bachelor of Laws from the Australian National University.

Images for download

High resolution images of the Chairman, Deputy Chairs and Commissioners can be found in our image library.

Former Chairs & Commissioners

A list of former Chairs, Commissioners, and Deputy Chairs & Commissioners of the Trade Practices Commission, ACCC, and AER can be found on the Former Chairs & Commissioners page.