Our Ref: 57758 Contact Officer: Hubert Wu Contact Phone: (03) 9658 6490





15 July 2015

GPO Box 3131 Canberra ACT 2601

Sent via email

23 Marcus Clarke Street Canberra ACT 2601

Dear Sir/Madam

tel: (02) 6243 1111 fax: (02) 6243 1199 www.accc.gov.au

## The Australian Paint Manufacturers' Federation Inc. & Ors – A91504 – interested party consultation

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) is currently conducting a consultation process on an application for authorisation received from The Australian Paint Manufacturers' Federation Inc. (APMF) on behalf of itself, Paint Stewardship Limited (PSL), and certain paint manufacturers and suppliers (together, the APMF & Ors) on 1 July 2015.

The purpose of this letter is to invite you, as a potentially interested party, to comment on the application. Please see the ACCC's publication <u>Authorisation process – the basics</u> for a summary of the authorisation process and how to make a submission to the ACCC.

APMF & Ors seek authorisation to apply a levy of up to \$0.15 per litre to the cost of supply of certain architectural and design (**A&**D) paints and woodcare products, which will fund a National Paint Product Stewardship Scheme to provide a nationally co-ordinated approach to the collection and disposal of A&D paints in Australia.

A full copy of the application and detailed supporting submission is attached. It is also available on the ACCC's website at www.accc.gov.au/AuthorisationsRegister.

## **Request for submissions**

The ACCC invites you to make a submission on the likely public benefits and effect on competition, or any other public detriment, from the proposed arrangements.

If you intend to provide a submission in relation to the application for authorisation please do so by **7 August 2015**.

Submissions should be emailed to <a href="mailto:adjudication@accc.gov.au">adjudication@accc.gov.au</a> with the subject 'A91504 – APMF & Ors – submission'. Alternatively, if you would like to provide comments orally, please contact Hubert Wu on (03) 9658 6490 or Luke Griffin on (02) 6243 1114 or via email <a href="mailto:adjudication@accc.gov.au">adjudication@accc.gov.au</a> to organise a suitable time.

Submissions, including oral submissions, will be placed on the ACCC's public register subject to any request for exclusion. Please see the ACCC's publication <u>Guidelines for excluding information from the public register</u>.

Please advise if you do not wish to make a submission at this time, but would like to be informed of the progress of the applications at the draft and final determination stages. If you are able to, please provide a nominated contact email address for future correspondence.

You can also forward this letter to any other party who may wish to make a submission to the ACCC regarding the applications.

## **Timetable**

The ACCC will progress its assessment of the application in a timely manner. An indicative timetable is set out below for your information.

1 July 2015	Lodgement of application and supporting submission.
15 July 2015	Public consultation process begins.
7 August 2015	Closing date for submissions on application for authorisation.
August 2015	Applicants respond to issues raised in the public consultation process.
September 2015	Draft determination.
September/October 2015	Public consultation on draft determination including any conference if called.
October/November 2015	Final determination.

This letter has been placed on the ACCC's public register. If you wish to discuss any aspect of this matter, please do not hesitate to contact Hubert Wu on (03) 9658 6490 or Luke Griffin on (02) 6243 1114 or by email to <a href="mailto:adjudication@accc.gov.au">adjudication@accc.gov.au</a>.

Yours sincerely

Darrell Channing Director

Adjudication Branch

## **Interested Party List**

ACT

**ACT Parliament** 

Australian Conservation Foundation

Australian Industry Group

Australian Local Government Association

Australian National Retail Association

Australian Packaging Covenant

Australian Retailers Association

**BASF** Australia

Brisbane City Council

Bristol

**Bunnings Group Limited** 

Cameleon Coatings and Paint Manufactuerers

CHOICE

City West Water

Close the Loop

**Crowies Paints** 

Department of Environment

Department of Environment and Heritage Protection

Department of Environment Regulation

Department of Primary Industry, Parks, Water and

Environment

Dulux Australia

**Environment and Planning** 

Environment and Planning Directorate

**Environment Protection Authority Victoria** 

Environmental Protection Authority, New South Wales

**EPA SA** 

**EPA Tasmania** 

**EPA WA** 

Geocycle

Global Product Stewardship Council

Henry Haymes Pty Ltd

Home Timber and Hardware Group

Housing Industry Association

Independent Cement and Lime

InfoActiv

**Inspiration Paints** 

Inspiration Paints (formerly 3D Paint Store Holdings)

Landcare Australia Ltd

Local Government Assocaiton of Tasmania

Local Government Association of NT

Local Government Association of Queensland

Local Government NSW

Master Painters & Decorators Australia

Master Painters Association, ACT

Master Painters Association, NSW

Master Painters Association, QLD

Master Painters Association, Queensland

Master Painters Association, SA

Master Painters Association, VIC

Masters Australia

Melbourne Water

Metro Waste Management Group (Vic)

Mitre 10

Municipal Association of Victoria

National Institute of Painters and Decorators

Nolan Consulting

Northern Territory Government

**NSW Office of Water** 

**NSW Parliament** 

NT EPA

**NT** Parliament

Paint Place

Paint Spot Pty Ltd

**PaintRight** 

Planet Ark

Plastic and Chemical industry Association

**PPG Industries** 

Queensland

Resene Paints

SA Local Government Association

South Australia Parliament

South East Water

Sustainability Victoria

Sydney Water

Tasmania Parliament

**Territory and Municipal Services** 

ToxFree (formerly Chemsal)

Transpacific Industrial

Valspar

Veolia

Victoria Parliament

**VIP Packaging** 

WA Waste Authority

Water Corporation of WA

Wattyl Australia

West Australia Parliament
West Australian Local Government Association
Yarra Valley Water
Zero Waste SA