

Australian Competition & Consumer Commission

GPO Box 520 Melbourne Vic 3001

Level 35, The Tower 360 Elizabeth Street Melbourne Vic 3000

tel: (03) 9290 1800 fax: (03) 9663 3699

www.accc.gov.au

Our Ref:C2010/522Contact Officer:Gina D'EttorreContact Phone:03 9290 1483

13 September 2010

Dear Sir/Madam

Suncorp-Metway Limited and Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited - applications for authorisation A91232 and A91233 - final determination

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (the ACCC) has issued a determination in respect of the applications for authorisation lodged by Suncorp-Metway Limited and Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Limited (the Applicants) on 31 May 2010.

The Applicants sought authorisation to agree not to direct charge each others' cardholders for ATM transactions at their ATMs.

A copy of the ACCC's determination is attached, including a summary of its reasons. For the reasons set out in its determination, the ACCC has decided to grant authorisation for five years. The ACCC's assessment is set out in Chapter four of its determination.

Application for review

Pursuant to section 101 of the *Trade Practices Act 1974*, a person dissatisfied with this determination may apply to the Australian Competition Tribunal for its review. An application for review must be made within 21 days of the date of this determination; that is, on or before 4 October 2010. If no application to review is lodged by this date, the ACCC's determination will come into force on 5 October 2010.

An application for review of the ACCC's determination should be lodged directly with the Australian Competition Tribunal. The Australian Competition Tribunal is a separate body from the ACCC and is located within the Federal Court of Australia.

For further information about the process involved in reviewing decisions in the Australian Competition Tribunal please refer to the Tribunal's website located at <u>http://www.competitiontribunal.gov.au/</u>.

This letter has been placed on the ACCC's public register. If you wish to discuss any aspect of this matter please do not hesitate to contact Gina D'Ettorre on 03 9290 1483.

Yours faithfully

Gavin Jones Director Adjudication Branch

A91232 Suncorp-Metway Ltd and Bendigo and Adelaide Bank Ltd – final determination addressees list

ABS Building Society AMP Bank AMP Credit Union Australian Securities and Investments Commission Australia and New Zealand Banking Group Australian Bankers Association Australian Defence Credit Union Australian Payments Clearing Association AWA Credit Union B&E Bank of Queensland **BankWest Big Sky Credit Union** Blind Citizens Australia **CAPE** Credit Union Choice **Coles Group** Commonwealth Bank of Australia Consumer Action Law Centre Cuscal Customers Defence Force Credit Union EECU **Encompass Credit Union** Firefighters and Affiliates Credit Co-operative Ford Co-operative Credit Society Greater Building Society Heritage Building Society HSBC Bank Australia Hume Building Society

IMB

ING Bank (Australia)

ING Direct

International First Data

Lifeplan Australia Building Society

Macquarie Bank

Maritime Mining & Power Credit Union NSW

Mecu

Melbourne University Credit Union

Members Equity Bank

MoneySwitch

National Australia Bank

New England Credit Union

Police Association Credit Co-operative

Police Department Employees' Credit Union

Queenslanders Credit Union

Reserve Bank of Australia

Select Credit Union

SGE Credit Union

The Rock Building Society

Treasury Department – Financial System Division – Australian

Government

Victoria Teachers Credit Union

Vision Australia

Westpac Banking Corporation