



Our Ref: C2008/1889-05 Contact Officer: Jaime Martin Contact Phone: (03) 9290 1477

**GPO Box 3131** Canberra ACT 2601

23 Marcus Clarke Street Canberra ACT 2601

fax: (02) 6243 1199

www.accc.gov.au

tel: (02) 6243 1111

Dear Sir / Madam

13 May 2009

## Port Waratah Coal Services and Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group applications for

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (the ACCC) has issued a determination in respect of the above applications for authorisation.

Port Waratah Coal Services and Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group sought authorisation for the 'PWCS Tonnage Allocation Stage 1' system (Stage 1 Allocation system) until 30 June 2009. The Stage 1 Allocation system is designed to provide coal producers with access to terminal capacity and manage the coal vessel queue while long term arrangements for access and capacity expansion of coal terminal infrastructure at the Port of Newcastle are developed and implemented by the industry.

authorisation A91110-A91112 - final determination

A copy of the ACCC's determination is attached. For the reasons set out in Chapter 6 of its determination, the ACCC has decided to grant authorisation to the Stage 1 Allocation system until 30 June 2009, as requested.

## Application for review

Pursuant to section 101 of the Trade Practices Act 1974, a person dissatisfied with this determination may apply to the Australian Competition Tribunal for its review. An application for review must be made within 21 days of the date of this determination; that is, on or before 3 June 2009.

If no application to review is lodged by this date, the ACCC's determination will come into force on 4 June 2009. The interim authorisation of the Stage 1 Allocation system will remain in place until this date.

An application for review of the ACCC's determination should be lodged directly with the Australian Competition Tribunal. The Australian Competition Tribunal is a separate body from the ACCC and is located within the Federal Court of Australia.

This letter has been placed on the ACCC's public register. If you wish to discuss any aspect of this matter please contact Jaime Martin on (03) 9290 1477 (jaime.martin@accc.gov.au).

Yours sincerely

Dr Richard Chadwick General Manager Adjudication Branch

## Port Waratah Coal Services Limited and Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group – applications for authorisation A91110 –A91112

## Interested parties – final determination

- 1. Anglo Coal Australia Pty Ltd
- 2. Austar Coal Mine Pty Limited
- 3. BHP Billiton Energy Coal
- 4. Bloomfield Collieries Pty Limited
- 5. Centennial Coal Company Limited
- 6. Coal & Allied (Rio Tinto Coal Australia Pty Ltd)
- 7. Donaldson Coal Pty Ltd
- 8. Gloucester Coal Limited
- 9. Idemitsu Australia Resources Pty Limited
- 10. Integra Coal Operations Pty Ltd
- 11. Peabody Pacific Pty Limited
- 12. White Mining Limited
- 13. Whitehaven Coal Ltd
- 14. Xstrata Coal Australia Pty Ltd
- 15. Werris Creek Coal Sales Pty Ltd
- 16. Peabody Coal Trade Australia
- 17. Ashton Coal Mines Limited
- 18. NSW Minerals Council
- 19. Australian Rail Track Corporation
- 20. Hunter Valley Coal Chain Logistics Team
- 21. SCT Logistics
- 22. Asciano Limited
- 23. OR National Coal
- 24. Genesee & Wyoming Australia Pty Ltd (on behalf of Fenwick Elliot Grace)
- Mr Ian McNamara, Policy Advisor for The Office of the Hon. Joe Tripodi MP, Minister for Ports and Waterways
- 26. The Treasury (Energy, Transport and Communications Unit)
- 27. Australian Government Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism (Minerals Branch)
- 28. Australian Government Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government (Infrastructure Investment)
- 29. Infrastructure Australia
- 30. National Transport Commission
- 31. Newcastle Port Corporation
- 32. NSW Department of Planning (Major Project Assessments Division)
- 33. NSW Department of Primary Industry (Mineral Resources Division)
- 34. NSW Maritime
- 35. Australian Transport Safety Bureau
- 36. Maritime Union of Australia
- 37. United Mine Workers Federation
- 38. The Hon Nick Greiner AC
- 39. Rail Corporation NSW
- 40. NSW Ministry of Transport
- 41. Dr Joe Winsen
- 42. China Shenhua Energy Company Limited