

Australian Competition & Consumer Commission

GPO Box 3131 Canberra ACT 2601

23 Marcus Clarke Street Canberra ACT 2601

> tel: (02) 6243 1111 fax: (02) 6243 1199

www.accc.gov.au

Our Ref: A91110 – A91112 Contact Officer: Jaime Martin Contact Phone: (03) 9290 1477

(| February 2009

Via email

Dear Sir / Madam

Port Waratah Coal Services Limited and Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group applications for authorisation A91110 – A91112 — amendment to applications

Port Waratah Coal Services Limited (PWCS) and the Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group (hereafter jointly referred to as 'the Applicants') have written to the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (the ACCC) amending the above applications for authorisation concerning the Hunter Valley coal chain.

A copy of the letter amending the applications is attached.

The amended applications

The effect of the amendment is that the Applicants are now seeking authorisation of the PWCS 'Tonnage Allocation Stage 1' (Stage 1 Allocation) only.

Consistent with the original applications, under the Stage 1 Allocation it is proposed that base tonnages for exporting coal will be allocated to existing coal producers that reflect the greater of each producer's highest allocation usage between 2004 and 2007, or their binding nomination at PWCS for 2008 proportionally reduced to 95Mt. These base tonnages will then be proportionally increased or decreased to match the capacity of the Hunter Valley coal chain.

The Applicants seek authorisation of the proposed Stage 1 Allocation until 30 June 2009.

The Applicants no longer seek authorisation at this time for the proposed Long Term Terminal Access Protocols (LTTAP) referred to in the original applications. Instead, the Applicants envisage the relevant aspects of the long term solution (including the LTTAP) will form the subject of a separate application for authorisation to be provided to the ACCC in March 2009. Interested parties will have the opportunity to provide their views on the proposed long term solution through the normal public consultation process on any such application for authorisation. The ACCC intends to assess the amended application for authorisation in accordance with the timetable set out below. The ACCC's draft determination will take account of submissions received thus far with respect to the Stage 1 Allocation.

Timetable

13 February 2009	Second monthly progress report from Applicants to be provided to the ACCC in accordance with conditional interim authorisation
February / March	Draft determination issued
March	Public consultation on draft determination
13 March 2009	Third monthly progress report from Applicants to be provided to the ACCC in accordance with conditional interim authorisation
April / May	Final determination issued

This letter has been placed on the ACCC's public register. If you wish to discuss any aspect of this matter, please do not hesitate to contact Mr David Hatfield on (02) 6243 1266 (<u>david.hatfield@accc.gov.au</u>) or Ms Jaime Martin on (03) 9290 1477 (jaime.martin@accc.gov.au).

Yours sincerely

Dr Richard Chadwick General Manager Adjudication Branch

Port Waratah Coal Services Limited and Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group – applications for authorisation A91110 –A91112

Interested parties

- 1. Anglo Coal Australia Pty Ltd
- 2. Austar Coal Mine Pty Limited
- 3. BHP Billiton Energy Coal
- 4. Bloomfield Collieries Pty Limited
- 5. Centennial Coal Company Limited
- 6. Coal & Allied (Rio Tinto Coal Australia Pty Ltd)
- 7. Donaldson Coal Pty Ltd
- 8. Gloucester Coal Limited
- 9. Idemitsu Australia Resources Pty Limited
- 10. Integra Coal Operations Pty Ltd
- 11. Resource Pacific Limited
- 12. Peabody Pacific Pty Limited
- 13. White Mining Limited
- 14. Whitehaven Coal Ltd
- 15. Xstrata Coal Australia Pty Ltd
- 16. Werris Creek Coal Sales Pty Ltd
- 17. Peabody Coal Trade Australia
- 18. Ashton Coal Mines Limited
- 19. NSW Minerals Council
- 20. Australian Rail Track Corporation
- 21. Hunter Valley Coal Chain Logistics Team
- 22. SCT Logistics
- 23. Asciano Limited
- 24. QR National Coal
- 25. Genesee & Wyoming Australia Pty Ltd (on behalf of Fenwick Elliot Grace)
- 26. The Hon. Joseph Tripodi MP, NSW Minister for Ports and Waterways
- 27. The Hon. Joel Fitzgibbon MP, Federal Member for Hunter
- 28. The Hon. George Souris MP, NSW Member for Upper Hunter
- 29. The Treasury (Energy, Transport and Communications Unit)
- 30. Australian Government Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism (Minerals Branch)
- 31. Australian Government Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government (Infrastructure Investment)
- 32. Infrastructure Australia
- 33. National Transport Commission
- 34. Newcastle Port Corporation
- 35. NSW Department of Planning (Major Project Assessments Division)
- 36. NSW Department of Primary Industry (Mineral Resources Division)
- 37. NSW Maritime

- 38. Australian Transport Safety Bureau
- 39. Maritime Union of Australia
- 40. United Mine Workers Federation
- 41. The Hon Nick Greiner AC
- 42. Embassy of Japan
- 43. Rail Corporation NSW
- 44. NSW Ministry of Transport
- 45. Rail Infrastructure Corporation
- 46. Dr Joe Winsen
- 47. China Shenhua Energy Company Limited