



Australian
Competition &
Consumer
Commission

GPO Box 3131 Canberra ACT 2601

23 Marcus Clarke Street Canberra ACT 2601

tel: (02) 6243 1111 fax: (02) 6243 1199

www.accc.gov.au

Our Ref: C2008/1889 Contact Officer: Jaime Martin Contact Phone: (03) 9290 1477

December 2008

Via email

Dear Sir / Madam

Port Waratah Coal Services Limited and Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group applications for authorisation A91110-A91112 – interim authorisation decision

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (the ACCC) has decided to grant interim authorisation until 31 March 2009 in respect of the application for authorisation lodged by Port Waratah Coal Services Limited and the Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group (the Applicants) on 19 November 2008. Please find attached a document outlining the reasons for this decision.

Interim authorisation has been granted to the PWCS Tonnage Allocation Stage 1 and protects the arrangements from legal action under the relevant provisions of the *Trade Practices Act* 1974 while the ACCC considers and evaluates the merits of the application.

This letter has been placed on the ACCC's public register. If you wish to discuss any aspect of this matter, please do not hesitate to contact Mr David Hatfield on (02) 6243 1266 (david.hatfield@accc.gov.au) or Ms Jaime Martin on (03) 9290 1477 (jaime.martin@accc.gov.au).

Yours sincerely

Dr Richard Chadwick General Manager Adjudication Branch

Port Waratah Coal Services Limited and Newcastle Coal Infrastructure Group – applications for authorisation A91110 –A91112

Interim decision – interested parties

- 1. Anglo Coal Australia Pty Ltd
- 2. Austar Coal Mine Pty Limited
- 3. BHP Billiton Energy Coal
- 4. Bloomfield Collieries Pty Limited
- 5. Centennial Coal Company Limited
- 6. Coal & Allied (Rio Tinto Coal Australia Pty Ltd)
- 7. Donaldson Coal Pty Ltd
- 8. Gloucester Coal Limited
- 9. Idemitsu Australia Resources Pty Limited
- 10. Integra Coal Operations Pty Ltd
- 11. Resource Pacific Limited
- 12. Peabody Pacific Pty Limited
- 13. White Mining Limited
- 14. Whitehaven Coal Ltd
- 15. Xstrata Coal Australia Pty Ltd
- 16. Werris Creek Coal Sales Pty Ltd
- 17. Peabody Coal Trade Australia
- 18. Ashton Coal Mines Limited
- 19. NSW Minerals Council
- 20. Australian Rail Track Corporation
- 21. Hunter Valley Coal Chain Logistics Team
- 22. SCT Logistics
- 23. Asciano Limited
- 24. OR National Coal
- 25. Genesee & Wyoming Australia Pty Ltd (on behalf of Fenwick Elliot Grace)
- 26. The Hon. Joseph Tripodi MP, NSW Minister for Ports and Waterways
- 27. The Hon. Joel Fitzgibbon MP, Federal Member for Hunter
- 28. The Hon. George Souris MP, NSW Member for Upper Hunter
- 29. The Treasury (Energy, Transport and Communications Unit)
- 30. Australian Government Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism (Minerals Branch)
- 31. Australian Government Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Local Government (Infrastructure Investment)
- 32. Infrastructure Australia
- 33. National Transport Commission
- 34. Newcastle Port Corporation
- 35. NSW Department of Planning (Major Project Assessments Division)
- 36. NSW Department of Primary Industry (Mineral Resources Division)
- 37. NSW Maritime

- 38. Australian Transport Safety Bureau
- 39. Maritime Union of Australia
- 40. United Mine Workers Federation
- 41. The Hon Nick Greiner AC
- 42. Embassy of Japan
- 43. Rail Corporation NSW
- 44. NSW Ministry of Transport
- 45. Rail Infrastructure Corporation
- 46. Dr Joe Winsen
- 47. Mr Ian Wiskin
- 48. Freehills Lawyers