Honeysuckle Health and nib


On 24 December 2020, Honeysuckle Health Pty Ltd (HH) and nib health funds ltd (together, the Applicants) sought authorisation for 10 years for HH to form and operate a buying group to collectively negotiate and administer contracts with healthcare providers (including hospitals, medical specialists, general practitioners and allied health professionals) on behalf of buying group participants. HH buying group participants include private health insurers, international medical and travel insurance companies, government and semi-government payers of health care services, and any other payer of health services as notified by HH to the ACCC.

HH is an equal joint venture between nib health funds ltd and Cigna Corporation, a global health services company.

The ACCC received several revised versions of the application for authorisation.

On 21 May 2021, the ACCC released its draft determination, proposing to grant authorisation with a condition for 5 years.

On 16 June 2021, the date by which the ACCC must make a final determination was extended until 1 October 2021.

On 8 July 2021, the ACCC held a Pre-Decision Conference in relation to the draft determination.

On 21 September 2021, the ACCC issued a final determination granting authorisation until 13 October 2026 with a condition that the Applicants must not supply services to Medibank, Bupa, HCF and HBF in Western Australia.

The final determination, draft determination, public submissions a copy of the application for authorisation and copies of the revised applications are available below.

An indicative timetable is set out below for your information.

Indicative date 

Stage in assessment process 

24 December 2020 

Lodgement of application and supporting submission. 

12 January 2021 

Public consultation process begins. 

5 February 2021

Closing date for submissions from interested parties.

February 2021

Applicants respond to issues raised in submissions.

21 May 2021 

Draft determination. 

May/June 2021

Public consultation on draft determination.

8 July 2021

Pre-Decision Conference held. 

21 September 2021

Final determination.


  • Honeysuckle Health Pty Ltd
  • nib health funds limited

Authorisation number(s)

  • AA1000542-1

ACCC correspondence

Submissions - before draft decision

Document title Date

Submissions - after draft decision

Document title Date