City of Hobart Council & Ors


On 14 October 2021, the City of Hobart Council applied for authorisation on behalf of itself and 11 additional councils in southern Tasmania to jointly negotiate with the successful supplier(s) of a tender for recycling acceptance, sorting, and processing services in each municipal area governed by the councils. In addition to the City of Hobart Council, the  participating councils are Glenorchy City Council, Clarence City Council, Kingborough Council, Sorell Council, Derwent Valley Council, Glamorgan Spring Bay Council, Tasman Council, Brighton Council, Huon Valley Council, Central Highlands Council and Southern Midlands Council.

It is expected that the City of Hobart will contract on behalf of the Participating Councils with the successful supplier(s), while the ongoing administration and management of the contracts would be performed by a Joint Authority that may be established by the Participating Councils. Authorisation is sought for 15 and half years to cover the initial procurement process and long-term contracts for the provision of services.

On 10 November 2021, the ACCC granted interim authorisation to the participating councils to jointly progress the tender process. This includes identifying preferred tender(s), commencing the negotiation process and preparing contractual documentation, but not entry into any contracts arising from the tender process.

An indicative timetable for the ACCC’s assessment is set out below.

Indicative date

Stage in assessment process

14 October 2021

Lodgement of application and supporting submission.

18 October 2021

Public consultation process begins.

25 October 2021

Closing date for submissions from interested parties on interim authorisation.

8 November 2021

Closing date for submissions from interested parties on substantive application.

October/November 2021

City of Hobart Council responds to issues raised in the public consultation process.

10 November 2021

Interim authorisation decision

December 2021

Draft determination.

February 2022

Final determination.


  • City of Hobart
  • Clarence City Council
  • Kingborough Council
  • Glamorgan Spring Bay Council
  • Tasman Council
  • Brighton Council
  • Huon Valley Council
  • Central Highlands Council
  • Southern Midlands Council
  • Sorell Council
  • Derwent Valley Council
  • Glenorchy City Council

Authorisation number(s)

  • AA1000584-1


Document title Date


Document title Date