Australian Screen Directors Authorship Collecting Society Ltd (ASDACS)


The Australian Screen Directors Authorship Collecting Society Ltd (ASDACS) is seeking authorisation on behalf of its current and future screen director members to alter its constitution to provide that:

  • members must assign their copyrights under the ‘retransmission scheme’ to ASDACS (that is, any copyrights in a film that is included in the retransmission of a free-to-air broadcast under the Copyright Act 1968 (Cth) (Copyright Act)), and
  • ASDACS collect the money paid by retransmitters to Screenrights (who is the declared collecting society appointed under the Copyright Act) under the retransmission scheme, and distribute it to relevant directors and overseas collecting societies.

ASDACS seeks authorisation for five years. ASDACS is not seeking to collectively negotiate remunerations with retransmitters or Screenrights. Directors would also be free to resign from ASDACS and require reassignment of their copyrights. 

The ACCC invites submissions in relation to the application for authorisation by 20 April 2020. For further information about the application, and how to provide a submission to the ACCC, please refer to the links below.

An indicative timetable is set out below for your information.

13 March 2020

Lodgement of application and supporting submission.

30 March 2020

Public consultation process begins.

20 April 2020

Closing date for submissions from interested parties.

4 May 2020

Applicant responds to issues raised in the public consultation process.

June 2020

Draft determination.

June 2020

Public consultation on draft determination including any conference if called.

July 2020

Final determination.


  • Australian Screen Directors Authorship Collecting Society Ltd (ASDACS)

Authorisation number(s)

  • AA1000474-1


Document title Date


Submissions - before draft decision