ACCC Chair Gina Cass Gottlieb has warmly welcomed today’s announcement by Treasurer Jim Chalmers that he will reappoint ACCC Deputy Chair Mick Keogh for a further five years, starting from 30 May 2023.

Mr Keogh joined the ACCC as a part-time Commissioner in February 2016 and was appointed Deputy Chair in 2018 with particular responsibility for the ACCC’s work in small business and agriculture.

“Mick’s contributions have been critical to much of the ACCC’s work during the past 7 years, including our Murray-Darling Basin water trading inquiry, our agriculture-focused market studies, and our activities in competition exemptions, mergers, product safety and enforcement,” ACCC Chair Gina Cass-Gottlieb said.

“Mick is well-known to the agricultural and small business sectors and has a deep understanding of the issues impacting them. It is excellent news that we will continue to have the benefit of Mick’s knowledge and expertise for a further term, particularly as we take on our new role as water market conduct regulator for the Murray-Darling Basin.”

Before his appointment to the ACCC Mr Keogh had more than 30 years’ experience in agricultural policy and research, including 15 years as Executive Director of the Australian Farm Institute, an independent policy institute that conducted research into issues of importance to Australian agriculture and regional Australia.

In 2015 he was awarded the Order of Australia medal for his services to agriculture.

Further information about the ACCC’s Chair, Deputy Chair and Commissioners is available at ACCC Chair & Commissioners