Small Business & Franchising Consultative Committee

The Small Business and Franchising Consultative Committee was established by the ACCC to provide a forum where competition and consumer law concerns related to the small business and franchising sectors could be discussed by industry and government.

How the committee works

The committee meetings are held twice a year, and are chaired by our Deputy Chair Dr Michael Schaper.

Members are drawn from a range of areas and include industry associations, small businesses, legal and business advisors and academics, with a focus on ensuring membership represents the interests of the broader small business sector.

Appointment to the committee is at our discretion and members typically hold office for a period of two years.

We do not pay sitting fees or reimburse travel costs for participation – members must meet their own expenses.

Members are invited to discuss and comment on the following:

  • issues affecting the small business and franchising sectors that fall within the scope of the Competition and Consumer Act 2010 and the Franchising Code of Conduct
  • emerging issues or market developments impacting on the small business and franchising sectors
  • education and information strategies developed and undertaken by the ACCC to assist the small business and franchising sectors.

Member expressions of interest

Expressions of interest are currently being sought for appointment to Small Business & Franchising Consultative Committee for 2018 and 2019.

Individuals and organisations who may have a relevant stakeholder perspective and are interested in applying for this committee are invited to submit a brief covering letter (two-page limit) and curriculum vitae by 5pm (EDST) on Monday 13 November 2017.

Overview of functions and expectations on members ( PDF 38.38 KB )

Membership application and selection process ( PDF 48.97 KB )

Email your application to, or post to Kristie Piniuta, Australian Competition and Consumer Commission, PO Box 520, MELBOURNE VIC 3000.

If you are applying on behalf of a particular group, please make this clear in your application.

Current membership

  • Australasian Association of Convenience Stores – Jeff Rogut
  • Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry – Stephen Ferguson
  • Australian Lottery and Newsagents’ Federation – Ben Kearney
  • Australian Retailers Association – Russell Zimmerman
  • Business Council of Co-operatives and Mutuals – Melina Morrison
  • Business Incubation and Innovation Australia – Phillip Kemp
  • Council of Small Businesses of Australia – Paul Nielsen
  • Curtin Business School – Dr Paull Weber
  • Franchise Advisory Centre – Jason Gehrke
  • Franchise Council of Australia – Damian Paull
  • Franchise Relationships Institute – Greg Nathan
  • Franchisee Association of Australia – The Hon. David Beddall
  • Franchisee Success – Elizabeth Gillam
  • FRANdata – Darryn McAuliffe
  • Institute of Public Accountants – Andrew Conway
  • Law Council of Australia  – Jon Clarke
  • Master Builders Australia – Dr Brent Davis
  • Master Grocers Australia – Jos de Bruin
  • McInnes Wilson Lawyers – Alicia Hill
  • Motor Trades Association of Australia – Richard Dudley
  • Real Estate Institute of Australia – Jock Kreitals
  • Restaurant & Catering Industry Association – Sally Neville
  • Self Employed Australia – Ken Phillips
  • Tasmanian Small Business Council – Geoff Fader
  • The Pharmacy Guild of Australia – David Quilty
  • University of NSW Business School – Dr Jenny Buchan
  • University of Sydney – Professor Andrew Terry

Observers from various government agencies and departments also participate in meetings of the committee.

More information

Contact the ACCC